What is Vegetarianism?

What is Vegetarianism?

We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Everything you need to know about this way of healthy living!

Vegetarianism is the practice of following a plant-based diet with or without the inclusion of dairy and eggs. There should be no concern about this. For the most part, Americans eat more protein than their bodies need. Too much protein can lead to cancer, kidney disease, and bone loss. There are many other foods with high amounts of protein including eggs, soy, dairy, beans, quinoa, and legumes. As long as a practicing vegetarian eats one of these daily, he will take in the appropriate amount of protein needed for his body to function. The four main food groups of healthy vegetarians are fruit, legumes, vegetables, and whole grains. These foods provide enough of the amino acids necessary to live a healthy life. (Photo courtesy of flickr/ALITTA ROSE)

Another benefit of a vegetarian lifestyle is that it maintains a healthy weight. There is a myth that too many carbohydrates will cause weight gain, but it’s pure fallacy. Foods high in carbohydrates are excellent in sustaining a healthy weight. They are a lower amount of calories in carbohydrates than in fats and they are stored differently in the body. Fat is immediately turned into body fat when your body ingests it. Less than five percent of calories in fat are burned in the process of conversion and storage. Carbohydrates are used as fuel for energy in the body. The complex carbohydrates found in the four vegetarian staple foods are the key to beneficial and nourishing diet. (Photo courtesy of flickr/Arlo_B)

Don’t feel constricted by the four food groups. Vegetarian cooking can be fun, easy, and delicious. There are many vegetarian non-meat options that make meals delicious and interesting. Cooking with tempeh, tofu, and vegan meat can taste just as good as the real thing. Give vegetarianism a try! Your will have more energy, vigor, and exuberance for life! (Photo courtesy of flickr/megabeth)

What is a vegetarian diet?

Vegetarianism seems more popular than ever. Veggie burgers grace menus and barbecues across the country. Children and teenagers declare themselves vegetarian to assert dietary independence from their parents. Vegetarian cosmetics and cruelty-free clothes fill corner drugstores and high-end shops. But although vegetarianism is trendy, sometimes rebellious and decidedly modern, it's actually one of the earliest diets. Some cultures have subsisted without meat for millennia. Socrates, Plato, Leonardo da Vinci, Charles Darwin and Thomas Edison were all vegetarians [source: VegNews].

The vegetarian diet is straightforward enough: Vegetarians do not eat meat. Some people who avoid beef and pork but still eat poultry or fish mistakenly consider themselves vegetarians. Although vegetarianism has varying degrees, the diet's core principle is abstention from all meat. Most vegetarians are lacto-ovo-vegetarians -- they do not eat meat but they allow dairy products and eggs. Lacto-vegetarians allow dairy, and ovo-vegetarians allow eggs. Vegans avoid all animal products -- meat, dairy, eggs, leather, wool, silk and even honey.

There is, however, plenty for vegetarians to eat. Lacto-ovo vegetarians eat fruit, vegetables, grains, nuts, seeds, legumes, dairy and eggs. They eat meat substitutes like soybean-based tofu and tempeh, and seitan, a wheat protein. Ethnic cooking's growing popularity has also opened up a world of new vegetarian foods to vegetarians and meat-eaters alike. Middle Eastern, North African, Indian and Asian foods are often vegetarian or easily can be made so.

In this article, we'll learn about why people become vegetarians, the degrees of vegetarianism and how the movement has evolved.­

Reasons for Vegetarianism

Even with vegetarianism's various degrees of strictness, the core diet is simply abstention from meat. But that one decision -- the decision not to eat meat -- can have a lot behind it. Vegetarians choose their diet for many reasons. Some are health-conscious, some believe animal agriculture hurts the environment and others have moral or religious objections to meat.


Vegetarianism has become a popular health diet. Vegetarian favorites like fruit, vegetables, whole grains, and legumes are low in fat and cholesterol and rich in fiber, vitamins C and E, potassium, folate and magnesium. The American Dietetic Association even reports that vegetarians have lower blood pressure, cholesterol and body mass indexes than non-vegetarians [source: ADA]. Of course, no diet is automatically healthy. Vegetarians must make sure they take in enoughprotein, calcium and vitamin B12 without overindulging in fatty, high-calorie foods like cheese.


Many vegetarians are as concerned with the Earth's well-being as they are with their own. Some vegetarians choose the diet for environmental reasons because they believe traditional agriculture has less of an ecological impact than animal agriculture. Learn more about this unquestionably modern reason for vegetarianism in How Vegans Work.

Moral and Religious

People usually try not to think about where their meat comes from. It can be unpleasant to imagine your hamburger as a wide-eyed cow in the pasture, let alone as an unhealthy animal in a cramped factory farm. But for many vegetarians, disassociation or denial is impossible. They often feel morally unable to eat animals slaughtered for their meat. Vegans take their ethical objections a step further and refuse to eat dairy or eggs from animals that they believe have led unnaturally short and unhappy lives.

Some of vegetarianism's ethical concerns have spread to the mainstream. Even steadfast meat-eaters often like the idea of free-range chicken or cage-free eggs -- animal husbandry techniques that promise a more compassionate alternative to traditional factory farming.

Vegetarians have long chosen the diet for ethical reasons. Although the first practitioners only temporarily avoided meat for purification, the first regular vegetarians began the diet after philosophical awakenings in the Eastern Mediterranean region and India.

The philosopher Pythagoras of Samos (c. 530 BC) taught vegetarianism to his followers. Pythagoras believed that because we are related to animals, we should treat them with kindness. Many other famous philosophers agreed -- Plato, Epicurus and Plutarch condemned animal sacrifice and avoided eating meat.

In India, the Buddhist and Jainist religions teach that humans should not kill sentient creatures for food. Although Buddhism later declined in India, vegetarianism spread to Brahmanism and Hinduism. Many upper castes and some lower castes adopted the Jainist virtue of "ahimsa," or harmlessness, which forbade hurting living things [source: Encyclopaedia Britannica].

But how did vegetarianism transform into a health movement in the 19th century and an animal rights issue in the 20th? In the next section, we'll learn about modern vegetarianism.

The Modern Vegetarian Movement

Today vegetarianism is trendy -- 25 percent of adolescents even think it's "cool" [source: Time]. The success of vegetarian cosmetics and vegetarian foods like veggie dogs and tofurkey is a testament to the diet's popularity. Groups that promote vegetarianism and animal rights, like the Humane Society of the United States (HSUS) and People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA), have tremendous lobbying power with major companies. But vegetarianism hasn't always been so generally accepted, nor has it always been linked with the animal-rights movement.

In 17th- and 18th-century Europe, some Protestant groups embraced vegetarianism as a moral directive -- a way to be sinless. By the 19th century, European and North American vegetarianism had become a fringe health movement. Adherents promoted the dietary benefits of vegetarianism -- even coupling it with temperance and anti-tobacco movements. Modern organized vegetarianism began with the formation of the Vegetarian Society in 1847 by the Bible Christian Sect of England. Within a year, the Society had 478 members.

It wasn't until the mid 20th century that vegetarianism partnered with animal rights movement. America's most notorious animal rights organization, PETA, vigorously protests against all meat, animal products and animal testing. It is best known for its bold ad campaigns. The HSUS takes a less strict approach. It accepts that people will eat meat and focus instead on reducing meat consumption, replacing animal products and improving farming techniques. Both PETA and the HSUS, however, are powerful political machines: They hold stock in companies like Tyson, Wal-Mart, McDonald's and Smithfield's.

Check out the links on the next page for more information about vegetarianism.

As vegetarianism and vegetarian foods become increasingly mainstream, some questions of etiquette arise:

Q: Is it rude to request a vegetarian or vegan meal at a dinner party?

A: If you're simply having dinner with friends, they might already know you're a vegetarian. If not, feel free to mention that you don't eat meat and volunteer to provide a vegetarian dish for everyone to share. If you're hosting a dinner, it's polite to offer at least some vegetarian food when you're expecting to have non-meat-eaters in attendance.

Q: What about for a large event like a wedding?

A: It is unreasonable to request specific meals at weddings or other large celebrations. The bride and groom, even if they're accommodating people, cannot cater to every guest's dietary restrictions. Most hosts are aware enough of vegetarianism to include some meatless fare, but if you have restrictive needs it's best to eat before or after the event. If you'd like to dine with everyone else, you can inquire what will be served -- prepare something similar and bring it yourself!

Welcome To Healthy, Vegetarian Cooking!

Have you been trying to eat less meat throughout the week? Or find new, exciting ways to cook with vegetables and fruits? First, let me say “good on ya!” It’s always a smart idea to incorporate more plant-based foods, whether you’re a vegetarian or omnivore. But if you’re new to vegetarian cooking, here’s a few things to keep in mind that will make the transition a whole lot easier.

  • Replace meat with your favorite vegetables. Whether it’s a stew, taco, or grain bowl, vegetables can easily substitute meat in your favorite recipes. Think cauliflower, sweet potato, tofu, broccoli, or chickpeas. Just head over to the produce section and you’ll find a plethora of hearty, colorful vegetables that are just as filling.
  • Get your protein fix with delicious plant-based ingredients. You’d be surprised how many plant-based ingredients have just as much protein as meat such as beans, lentils, or even cashews. And let’s not forget that they’re filled with a range of vitamins and minerals. In other words, they’re the best of both worlds.
  • Utilize spices and sauces to amp up the flavor! Unique spice blends, fresh herbs, and flavorful sauces can make all the difference – turning a boring recipe into mouth-watering one. And as you cook more vegetarian meals, you’ll learn how to create the best aromatic combinations.

Mac and Cheese

Mitch Mandel and Thomas MacDonald

Over the years, we've tested dozens of iterations of the classic—spiked with chiles, topped with bacon, toned down with non-fat cheese. However, we keep returning to this formula: a béchamel base, laced with extra-sharp Cheddar cheese, and finished with a bit of yogurt to give the sauce that perfect texture. Are there more decadent bowls of mac? Absolutely—but not for under 400 calories.

Get our recipe for Mac and Cheese.


Food regarded as suitable for all vegetarians (including vegans) typically includes:

    /grains: barley, buckwheat, corn, fonio, hempseed, maize, millet, oats, quinoa, rice, rye, sorghum, triticale, wheat derived products such as flour (dough, bread, baked goods, cornflakes, dumplings, granola, Muesli, pasta etc.). (fresh, canned, frozen, pureed, dried or pickled) derived products such as vegetable sauces like chili sauce and vegetable oils.
  • Edible fungi (fresh, canned, dried or pickled). Edible fungi include some mushrooms and cultured microfungi which can be involved in fermentation of food (yeasts and moulds) such as Aspergillus oryzae and Fusarium venenatum (fresh, canned, frozen, pureed, candied or dried) derived products such as jam and marmalade. : beans (including soybeans and soy products such as miso, edamame, soy milk, soy yogurt, tempeh, tofu and TVP), chickpeas, lentils, peas, peanuts derived products such as peanut butter. and seeds derived products such as nut butter. , spices and wild greens such as dandelion, sorrel or nettle.
  • Other foods such as seaweed derived products such as agar, which has the same function as animal bone derived gelatin.
  • Beverages such as beer, coffee, hot chocolate, lemonade, tea or wine. Although some beers and wines may have elements of animal products as fining agents including fish bladders, egg whites, gelatine and skim milk.

Foods not suitable for vegans, but acceptable for some other types of vegetarians:

    (butter, cheese (except for cheese containing rennet of animal origin), milk, yogurt (excluding yogurt made with gelatin) etc.) – not eaten by vegans and pure ovo-vegetarians – not eaten by pure vegetarians, vegans and lacto-vegetarians (most Indian vegetarians) – not eaten by most vegans

Vegetarians by definition cannot consume meat or animal tissue products, with no other universally adopted change in their diet. However, in practice, compared to non-vegetarians, vegetarians on average have an increased consumption in:

And in comparison to non-vegetarians, practising vegetarians on average have a decreased consumption in:

This difference is observed, but is not required to be vegetarian. Nevertheless it is relevant when considering research into the health effects of adopting a vegetarian diet. A diet consisting only of sugar candies, for example, while technically also vegetarian, would be expected to have a much different outcome for health compared to what is called "a vegetarian diet" culturally and what is most commonly adopted by vegetarians. [5]

These are some of the most common dishes that vegetarians eat without substitution of ingredients. Such dishes include, from breakfasts to dinnertime desserts:

  • Traditionally, Brahmin cuisines in most part of India, except Odisha and West Bengal, are strictly vegetarian. from the state of Gujarat in western India is predominantly vegetarian.
  • Many bean, pasta, potato, rice, and bulgur/couscous dishes, stews, soups and stir-fries. and oatmeals, granola bars, etc.
  • Fresh fruit and most salads , baba ganoush, pita-wraps or burrito -wraps, vegetablepilafs, baked potatoes or friedpotato-skins with various toppings, corn on the cob, smoothies
  • Many sandwiches, such as cheese on toast, and cold sandwiches including roasted eggplant, mushrooms, bell peppers, cheeses, avocado and other sandwich ingredients
  • Numerous side dishes, such as mashed potatoes, scalloped potatoes, some bread stuffings, seasoned rice, and macaroni and cheese.
  • Classical Buddhist cuisine in Asia served at temples and restaurants with a green sign indicating vegetarian food only near temples

National cuisines Edit

    (and other East Asian) dishes based on the main ingredients being mushroom, noodles, eggplant, string beans, broccoli, rice, tofu, most tong sui or mixed vegetables.
    such as ajapsandali, nigvzinai badrijani, badrijnis borani, badrijnis khizilala, badrijani mtsvanilit, ekala nigvzit, ghomi, gogris gupta, khinkali with mushrooms, lobiani, lobio, lobio nigvzit, mchadi, mkhlovani, pkhali, salati nigvzit, shechamandi, shilaplavi, which feature eggplants, walnuts, kidney beans, mushrooms, pomegranates, garlic, squash, onions, tomatoes, cucumbers, bell peppers, chili peppers, beets, fresh herbs (coriander, parsley, basil etc.), smilax, cabbage, spinach, and red/white wine vinegar. in Asia is replete with vegetarian dishes, many of which can be traced to religious traditions (such as Jain and Hindu). Gujarati cuisine of India is predominantly vegetarian among other Indian cuisines: Gujarati thali is very famous among Indians. There are many vegetarian Indian foods such as pakora, samosa, khichris, Pulao, raitas, rasam, bengain bharta, chana masala, some kormas, sambar, jalfrezis, saag aloo, subjis (vegetable dishes) such as bindi subji, gobi subji, Punjabi chole, aloo matar and much South Indian food such as dosas, idlis and vadas. Chapati and other wheat/maida based breads like naan, rotiparathas are often stuffed with vegetarian items to make it a satisfying meal. Many Indian dishes also qualify as vegan, though many others use honey or dairy.
      foods like sambar, rasam, koottu, karembadu, upma, palya/taalimpu, kozhambu/koora, aviyal, olan, Kadala curry, Theeyal, Pulihora/puliyogare, Chammandi, Chutney, Chitranna, Bisi Bele Bath, and breads like Appam, Puttu, pathiri, dosa, idli and vada.
    • In Indonesia, vegetarianism is well served and represented, as there are plenty selection of vegetarian dishes and meat substitutes. Dishes such as gado-gado, karedok, ketoprak, pecel, urap, rujak and asinan are vegetarian. However, for dishes that use peanut sauce, such as gado-gado, karedok or ketoprak, might contains small amount of shrimp paste for flavor. Served solely, gudeg can be considered a vegetarian food, since it consists of unripe jackfruit and coconut milk. Fermented soy products, such as tempeh, tofu and oncom are prevalent as meat substitutes, as the source of protein. Most of Indonesians do not practice strict vegetarianism and only consume vegetables or vegetarian dishes for their taste, preference, economic and health reasons. Nevertheless, there are small numbers of Indonesian Buddhists who practice vegetarianism for religious reason. foods such as castella, dorayaki, edamame, name kojiru, mochi, taiyaki, tempura, vegetable sushi and wagashi. Miso soup is made from fermented white or red soy bean paste, garnished with scallions or seaweed. Although most traditional versions are made from fish stock (dashi), it can be made with vegetable stock as well. has some dishes that are often vegetarian. One example is bibimbap, which is rice with mixed vegetables. Sometimes this dish contains beef or other non-vegetarian ingredients. Another Korean food which is sometimes vegetarian is jeon, in which ingredients (most commonly vegetables and/or seafood) are coated in a flour and egg batter and then pan-fried in oil. such as tumbet and many polentas and tapas dishes. foods such as salsa and guacamole with chips, rice and bean burritos (without lard in the refried beans or chicken fat in the rice), huevos rancheros, veggie burrito, many quesadillas, bean tacos, some chilaquiles and bean-pies, chili sin carne, black beans with rice, some chiles rellenos, cheeseenchiladas and vegetable fajitas. foods such as most pastas, many pizzas, bruschetta, caponata, crostini, eggplant parmigiana, Polenta and many risottos. cuisine such as braised leeks with olives and parsley, ratatouille, many quiches, sauteed Brussels sprouts with mushrooms, sauteed Swiss chard, squash and vegetable-stuffed mushrooms.
    • In Germany, Frankfurt green sauce, Klöße with vegetarian sauces (e.g., Chanterelle), cheese or vegetable stuffed Maultaschen, combinations of quark, spinach, potatoes and herbs provide some traditional vegetarian summer dishes. Traditionally on Fridays, southern Germany broad variety of sweet dishes may be served as a main course, such as Germknödel and Dampfnudel. Potato soup and plum cake are traditional Friday dishes in the Palatinate. Brenntar in Swabia, it is made of roasted flour, usually spelt flour or oat flour.
    • Many Greek and Balkan dishes, such as briam, dolmas (when made without minced meat), fasolada, gemista, vegetable based moussaka and spanakopita.
      developed a significant vegetarian tradition in czarist time, based on the example of Leo Tolstoy. [6] The orthodox tradition of separating meat and vegetables and as well between specific meals for fasting and other holidays contributed to a rich variety of vegetarian dishes [6] in Russia and Slavic countries, such as soups (vegetable borscht, shchi, okroshka), pirogi, blini, vareniki, kasha, buckwheat, fermented and pickled vegetables, etc. Many Ethiopian dishes such as injeera or Ethiopian vegetable sauces or chillies. food such as falafel, hummus (mashed chick peas), tahini (ground sesame seeds), minted-yogurts, and couscous.
        in particular is rich in vegetarian foods. For reasons ranging from economics to the religious practices of the Coptic Orthodox Church, most Egyptian dishes rely on beans and vegetables: the national dishes, kushari and ful medames, are entirely vegetarian, as are usually the assorted vegetable casseroles that characterize the typical Egyptian meal.

      Desserts and sweets Edit

      Most desserts, including pies, cobblers, cakes, brownies, cookies, truffles, Rice Krispie treats (from gelatin-free marshmallows or marshmallow fluff), peanut butter treats, pudding, rice pudding, ice cream, crème brulée, etc., are free of meat and fish and are suitable for ovo-lacto vegetarians. Eastern confectionery and desserts, such as halva and Turkish delight, are mostly vegan, while others such as baklava (which often contains butter) are lacto vegetarian. Indian desserts and sweets are mostly vegetarian like peda, barfi, gulab jamun, shrikhand, basundi, kaju katri, rasgulla, cham cham, rajbhog, etc. Indian sweets are mostly made from milk products and are thus lacto vegetarian dry fruit-based sweets are vegan.

      A meat analogue is a meat-like substance made from plants. More common terms are plant-based meat, vegan meat, meat substitute, mock meat, meat alternative, imitation meat, or vegetarian meat, or, sometimes more pejoratively, fake meat or faux meat. Meat analogues typically approximate certain aesthetic qualities (such as texture, flavor, appearance) or chemical characteristics of specific types of meat. Generally, meat analogue means a food made from vegetarian ingredients, and sometimes without animal products such as dairy. Many analogues are soy-based (e.g. tofu, tempeh) or gluten-based, but now may also be made from pea protein. Other less common analogues include ingredients like mycoprotein.

      Because of their similarity to meats, they are frequently used in dishes and food practices similar to meat. The target market for meat analogues includes vegetarians, vegans, non-vegetarians seeking to reduce their meat consumption, [7] [8] and people following religious dietary laws in Hinduism, Judaism, Islam, and Buddhism.

      Increasingly, the global demand for sustainable diets in response to the outsized role animal products play in global warming and other environmental impacts has seen an increase in industries focused on finding substitutes similar to meat. However, the motivation for seeking out mock meats tends to vary depending on consumer group. The market for meat alternatives is highly dependent on "meat-reducers" — a consumer group who is primarily motivated by health consciousness and weight management. Consumers who identify as vegan, vegetarian or pescetarian are more likely to endorse concerns regarding animal welfare and/or environmentalism as primary motivators. [8] [9]

      Meat substitution has a long history. Tofu, a popular meat analogue made from soybeans, was known in China during the period of the Western Han dynasty (206 BCE – 9 CE). [10] A document written by Tao Gu (903–970) describes how tofu was called "small mutton" and valued as an imitation meat. Meat analogues such as tofu and wheat gluten are associated with Buddhist cuisine in China and other parts of East Asia. [11] In Medieval Europe, meat analogues were popular during the Christian observance of Lent, when the consumption of meat from warm-blooded animals is forbidden. [12]

      In the 2010s, owing to concern over global warming, demand for meat from a growing middle class, and major investments by companies such as Impossible Foods and Beyond Meat, there was an increase in awareness and the market size for meat analogues in Western and Westernized markets.

      Commercial products, marketed especially towards vegetarians and labeled as such, are available in most countries worldwide, in varying amounts and quality. As example, in Australia, various vegetarian products are available in most of supermarket chains and a vegetarian shopping guide is provided by Vegetarian/Vegan Society of Queensland. [13] However, the biggest market for commercially vegetarian-labeled foods is India, with official governmental laws regulating the "vegetarian" and "non vegetarian" labels.

      Vegetarian diets are associated with a number of favorable health outcomes in epidemiological studies. In a study supported by a National Institutes of Health grant, dietary patterns were evaluated along with their relationship with metabolic risk factors and metabolic syndromes. [14] A cross-sectional analysis of 773 subjects including 35% vegetarians, 16% semi-vegetarians, and 49% non-vegetarians found that a vegetarian dietary pattern is associated significantly with lower means for all metabolic risk factors except HDL, and a lower risk of metabolic syndromes when compared to non-vegetarian diets. Metabolic risk factors include HDL, triglycerides, glucose, systolic blood pressure, diastolic blood pressure, waist circumference, and body mass index. Metabolic syndromes are a cluster of disorders associated with a heightened risk of diabetes and cardiovascular disease. Adventist Study 2 (AHS-2) compared mean consumption of each food group for vegetarian patterns compared to non-vegetarian patterns. [5] Health benefits can be explained by increase in certain foods, not just the lack of animal products.

      As evident by the Adventist Study 2 (AHS-2), the vegetarian diet does not always cause health benefits. This is dependent on the specific foods in the vegetarian diet. The National Institute of Health recommends a 1600 calories a day lacto-ovo vegetarian cuisine for the diet. This recommended diet includes oranges, pancakes, milk, and coffee for breakfast, vegetable soup, bagels, american cheese, and spinach salad for lunch, and omelettes, mozzarella cheese, carrots, and whole wheat bread, and tea for dinner. [15]

      How to Make Aquafaba

      We think aquafaba&rsquos most magical quality is its ability to whip to a stiff, fluffy foam. We fold this foam into blueberry muffins to lighten them, and we whip aquafaba with sugar and vanilla to make egg-free meringues (more on that later).

      Left: Underwhipped aquafaba. Right: Properly whipped aquafaba.

      As it does with egg whites, adding a stabilizing ingredient improved the structure of whipped aquafaba. In sweet recipes, we usually used sugar. But there&rsquos another ingredient we often whip into egg whites to add stability: cream of tartar. But why?

      Cream of tartar is acidic&mdashwhen added to egg whites, it prevents the egg proteins from bonding too tightly to each other and denatures them so they can create a foam that traps air bubbles and water more quickly and holds them in place for less weeping.

      While aquafaba isn&rsquot protein-rich like egg whites, we were curious to see whether cream of tartar could benefit our vegan baked goods as well. To find out, we conducted an experiment.

      We whipped four ounces of aquafaba to a stiff foam three ways&mdashaquafaba alone, aquafaba with ¼ cup of sugar, and aquafaba with ¼ teaspoon of cream of tartar&mdashtaking note how long it took to whip each version to a stiff foam on high speed in a stand mixer. We then transferred each foam to a funnel set over a graduated cylinder, where we let them sit for 1 hour. At the end of the hour, we examined how much liquid weeped out from each foam.

      KitchenAid Pro Line Series 7-Qt Bowl Lift Stand Mixer

      This powerful, smartly designed machines's range of ability and durability make it truly worthy of investment. (But its smaller sibling, the KitchenAid Classic Plus Series 4.5-Quart Tilt-Head Stand Mixer, impressed us with its performance and comes with a much smaller price tag.)

      Left: Aquafaba whipped alone after 1 hour. Middle: Aquafaba whipped with sugar after 1 hour. Right: Aquafaba whipped with cream of tartar after 1 hour.

      After 1 hour, it was clear that cream of tartar stabilizes aquafaba foams as it does egg foams. The aquafaba whipped alone took 10 minutes to whip to a stiff foam, and it completely deflated after just 20 minutes, filling the cylinder almost completely, with about 95 mL of liquid.

      The aquafaba whipped with sugar fared better it still took 10 minutes to reach stiff peaks (like egg whites, aquafaba whipped with sugar creates stiff, sticky peaks rather than just a foam), and even though the mixture filled the graduated cylinder in 1 hour, it had weeped only 30 mL of liquid.

      But the star of the show was the aquafaba whipped with cream of tartar. It took only 4½ minutes to reach a stiff foam, and after 1 hour only about 2 mL of liquid collected in the graduated cylinder. As you can see in the photograph, only the slightest amount of foam slid through the funnel.

      This experiment translated into better recipes for baked goods like vegan blueberry muffins (the muffins we made with the cream of tartar fortified aquafaba foam displayed more height and better doming). And as a bonus, cream of tartar boosts the potential of the leavener in a recipe, contributing to a fluffier crumb.

      Blueberry muffins made with cream of tartar fortified aquafaba foam (left) came out taller and fluffier than muffins made with plain aquafaba foam (right).

      Vegetarian Grilling Recipes

      Published: May 20, 2021 · Modified: May 20, 2021 by Nicole @ Oh My Veggies · This post may contain affiliate links.

      It's that time of year again—grilling season! And there's no reason for us vegetarians to be left out. From fresh veggie kabobs to hearty plant-based burgers to elaborate grilled creations, there's a little something for everyone.

      I've gathered up all of my favorite vegetarian grilling recipes right here to get you started. So go ahead and get those veggies on the grill!

      How to Tell if Sugar is Vegan

      Sugar that comes from sugar beets is considered vegan the process does not involve bone char. The brand of beet sugar I often use is this one from Now. (<<affiliate links) Beet sugar has virtually the same taste and texture as cane sugar the difference between the two is negligible.

      If you want to stick with cane sugar, sometimes you&rsquoll find brands that will actually say vegan but most are not certified vegan and therefore, cannot advertise that.

      Here are a few other words that you can look for to feel confident that your sugar is, indeed, vegan:

      When a label uses any of these adjectives, you can rest assured that it has not been filtered with bone char. In the organic practice, the sugar cane juices are boiled, spun in a centrifuge, and dried into sugar crystals. These sugars are not as pure white but can be substituted in any recipe.

      What Is a Vegan Diet?

      What did you have for breakfast this morning? Cereal and milk? Eggs and bacon? Maybe just some tea with honey? Not if you're a vegan. Vegans take basic vegetarianism several steps further. Instead of abstaining only from eating fish and meat, vegans avoid eating, wearing or using any animal products. This means no eggs or dairy, no honey, no leather, fur, wool or silk, and no cosmetics or chemicals tested on animals.

      There is plenty that vegans can eat, however. The Vegan Society recommends healthy servings of vegetables, fruits, grains, legumes, oils and fortified nondairy products like soy milk. Some vegans eat meat substitutes like tempeh, tofu or wheat protein, sometimes called seitan. Vegans also take supplements of vitamin B12, vitamin D and calcium to make up for any dietary deficiencies.

      But why do people choose this restrictive diet? How far do some people take veganism? In this article, we'll answer these questions and learn a little bit about the history of veganism.

      IMG_0173 | Razvan Antonescu | CC by 2.0

      People are led to believe that animals used to produce dairy “products” (milk, cheese, etc.) and eggs are treated humanely, but that’s simply not true.

      The dairy industry is just as cruel as the meat industry, and they work in tandem. Many newborn calves are taken from their mothers after only a couple of days and put in veal crates. Check out the 18 images Big Dairy doesn’t want you to see to learn more.

      And here are 21 things the egg industry doesn’t want you to see, showing that there is just as much cruelty behind egg production.

      What Is Vegan Butter?

      If you&aposve ever dabbled in a vegan diet or needed a dairy-free butter substitute, you know the wonders of vegan butter. It looks like butter, smells like butter, and even behaves like butter in most recipes, but vegan butter is definitely not butter. So what is vegan butter? And how does something that&aposs totally dairy-free taste like it&aposs straight from a cow? It turns out that vegan butter is actually a type of margarine, the imitation butter spread that your grandmother might&aposve used. (Mine certainly did.) While butter is made from churning cream from a cow, margarine is made by mixing vegetable oils with water, salt, and emulsifiers until it&aposs got the consistency of butter.

      Not all margarine is vegan, though. According to the US Department of Agriculture, in the United States, margarine must be at least 80 percent fat𠅋ut it can also include some milk and still be called margarine. Vegan butter therefore is a type of dairy-free margarine that&aposs got all of the fat with none of the milk. One of the most popular brands of vegan butter is Earth Balance, which says it&aposs vegan right on the packaging. But there are some brands of margarine that are dairy-free and therefore vegan without explicitly labeling themselves as such Smart Balance Original Buttery Spread, for instance, is dairy-free albeit not marked vegan.

      The best way to tell what if the margarine you&aposre buying is dairy-free or not is to read the label, and because each type of vegan butter has a slightly different blend of vegetable oils, some are better for baking than others. That&aposll be noted on the label, too.

      If you&aposre feeling daring, or have some extra time on your hands, you can also try to make vegan butter at home by mixing your own proprietary blend of vegetable oils. However, it probably won&apost have the same buttery flavor as some of these commercially available vegan butters. That&aposs because the store-bought options tend to have the addition of a some kind of natural flavoring or, as Nutiva, a vegan food company, calls it, a "vegan buttery flavor." This so-called buttery flavor can be either a blend of plant ingredients or a chemical that smells like butter you should read the label to figure that out, too.

      Watch the video: Χορτοφαγία: Πόσο υγιεινή είναι; (August 2022).